The Scottish Poets’ Club


There is very little currently known about this club. The only information we have to date comes from the Glasgow Post Office directory, which briefly states the group’s object and lists the then current office bearers:

‘THE SCOTTISH POETS’ CLUB. (To Perpetuate the Memory of the Scottish Poets.) Office-Bearers, 1905: —Hon. president, Rev. David Macrae ; president, Joseph Wright ; vice-presidents, Ex-Bailie Malcolm Campbell, J. H. Thomson, T. J. Melvin, Councillor Archd. Campbell, Rev. Robert Campbell, and Ex- Bailie William Martin, J.P. ; directors Robert Baird. J.P., William Gibb, Major R. S. Milne, V.D., William Anderson, A. G. Weir, Alex. Macdonald, Daniel M’Nicol, James Clunies, and Walter Freer ; hon. treasurer, James Gardiner. J. P., 106 Candieriggs ; hon. secretary, Robert Wylie, 65 Oswald Street, City, from whom all information may be obtained.’

(‘The Scottish Poets’ Club’, ‘Miscellaneous’, Post Office Glasgow Directory for 1905-1906… (Glasgow: Aird & Coghill, 1905), p. 186)

Date of Existence


Source of Information

‘The Scottish Poets’ Club’, ‘Miscellaneous’, Post Office Glasgow Directory for 1905-1906… (Glasgow: Aird & Coghill, 1905), p. 186


Mitchell Library

National Library of Scotland

Reference Number

Additional Notes

The Glasgow Post Office directories are available at the Mitchell Library and the National Library of Scotland. Digitised copies are available through the NLS website: